Quantcast

List galleries


Expos


Welcome!
Welcome! It is with pleasure that I invite you to discover my watercolors. This site is constantly changing, do not hesitate to return regularly. I hope you will enjoy your visit!


News

30/Nov/2012




Links



It was when I heard Pierre Soulages describing his artistic approach on the radio and explaining how his goal was to « Move with Light » that his words -enlightening indeed- immediately imprinted themselves in my memory. This is exactly what any painter -and thus watercolour painter- aims at.

The particularity of watercolours precisely resides in the presence of water, which is more than a simple solvent. Water is an EXPRESSIVE ELEMENT of this medium, in the same way as the pigments, the colours, the line, the composition, etc. The watercolour technique can be puzzling for the beginner who tends not to put enough water and therefore not enough coloured pigments to prevent gouache effects, thus resulting in a dull and bland painting.

To make the water one's ALLY, to accept to leave it some AUTONOMY, and to be MINDFUL enough to exploit any HAPPY ACCIDENT are then the necessary conditions for a LUMINOUS and TRANSPARENT watercolour paiting. This idea is linked to Dolorès Bolaños' precious advice which is a fundamental and extremely simple principle : watercolours is PLAYING WITH WATER AND PIGMENTS.

In this game of alternating between CONTROLLING and LETTING GO, the WATER imprints itself on the pigments, leaving hints of its presence on the paper, thus giving birth to watercolours where the WATER is no longer a simple solvent but an element which, through its physico-chemical properties, reveals its own ESTHETIC AND POETIC QUALITIES.


All in all, paraphrasing Soulages's words, it can be said that :

      WATERCOLOURS IS THE ART OF MOVING PEOPLE WITH WATER.


Cliquez ici pour lire la suite






N° Siret : 33093324300025            N° d' ordre Maison des Artistes : M998389                                                                                                  Copyright André Méhu  

 CopyrightFrance.com

Quantcast

Liste des galeries


Expos


Bienvenue!
Bienvenue à tous ! C'est avec plaisir que je vous invite à découvrir mes aquarelles. Ce site est en évolution constante, s' il vous a plu n' hésitez pas à y revenir régulièrement. Bonne visite, j'espère que vous passerez un agréable moment !


Articles


Liens


C'est en écoutant à la radio Pierre Soulages s'exprimer sur sa démarche artistique que, dans ma mémoire, se sont inscrits ces quelques mots qui nous éclairent quant-à son but qui est de nous "Emouvoir par la Lumière". Ceci définit très bien la quête de tout peintre et donc celle de celui qui peint à l'aquarelle.


La particularité de celle-ci tient dans la présence de l'EAU qui au delà d'être un simple solvant est bien plus que cela. l'EAU est un ELEMENT EXPRESSIF de ce médium au même titre que le sont les pigments, les couleurs, le trait, la composition etc... Dans la technique de l'aquarelle L'EAU déroute le débutant qui n'en met pas assez, et du même coup pas assez de pigments colorés pour eviter les effets gouachés, produisant ainsi des peintures fades et mièvres.


Se faire de l'eau une ALLIEE, accepter de lui accorder une certaine AUTONOMIE, et être en EVEIL pour exploiter les ACCIDENTS HEUREUX sont donc les conditions nécessaires pour réaliser une aquarelle LUMINEUSE et TRANSPARENTE. C'est à cela que se rattache le précieux conseil énoncé par Dolorès Bolanos, principe fondamental et extrèmement simple à formuler: l'aquarelle c'est JOUER AVEC L'EAU ET LES PIGMENTS.


Dans ce jeux alternant CONTROLE et LACHER-PRISE l'EAU marque de son empreinte les pigments, laissant le souvenir de son passage sur le papier, et donnant là naissance à l'aquarelle où l'EAU n'est plus un simple solvant mais un élément qui, par ses propriétés physicochimiques, révélent ses propres QUALITES ESTHETIQUES ET POETIQUES.


Pour en revenir aux mots de Soulages et en le paraphrasant on peut affirmer en définitive que:

                        L'AQUARELLE C'EST EMOUVOIR AVEC L'EAU.


Cliquez ici pour lire la suite







N° Siret : 33093324300025            N° d' ordre Maison des Artistes : M998389                                                                                                  Copyright André Méhu  

 CopyrightFrance.com